After the Honeymoon

One short year ago, Pointy Shoes and Broken Thumbs fell in love with the gorgeous home on a tree lined street in their favorite part of town but sadly they got rejected so as with so many things in life, they settled for the dumpy building in the not so bad neighborhood.

Sure, the rear was a bit small and the structure up top was lacking, but in the end, Pointy Shoes and Broken Thumbs felt that at the very least, it would keep them warm and isn’t that just what we’re all really looking for?

So, they said their vows, put their money down (and some of their family’s) and carried themselves over the threshold.

The first thing to go was the lousy kitchen wrought iron dinette set; then off came the bad tile and popcorn ceiling; the obtrusive built ins were shed next, and then the extra walls and repulsively bad fixtures.

Pointy Shoes and Broken Thumbs erected some new walls and gently laid down new tiles. After much vigorous activity and sweaty brows, Broken Thumbs and Pointy Shoes were able to bathe in the afterglow of a few finished home projects.

We now find ourselves here one year later. The dust has settled and Pointy Shoes and Broken Thumbs’ early optimism has since cooled.

Counselor: Communication is very important in an effective partnership. I would like for you to express your feelings honestly and openly to each other.

Pointy Shoes & Broken Thumbs: I hate our front door. It’s so tacky.

House: You’re always so negative. Be thankful you have a door to dislike. Okay, I’ll change the front door if it will make you happy. I want to be better but you have to be patient.

Pointy Shoes & Broken Thumbs: I’ll believe that when I see it.

Counselor: Constructive dialogue please.

Pointy Shoes & Broken Thumbs: I hate the way the concrete in the back is uneven. It would be a lot better if we could build a new patio over the old concrete.

House: Well, if you feel that way about the backyard, then I’d also like to say that I hate the red paint on the concrete, which is now peeling. It makes me uncomfortable to know that you’re seeing me like this.

Pointy Shoes & Broken Thumbs: And that ugly brown bathroom! We need to rid ourselves of that decrepit disaster. We understand that it’s not your fault but you need help. Serious help.

House: I know. I don’t know what my previous owner was thinking when they did that to me. I’m so sorry. Like I said, I’d like to change but what I really need from you is more time and investment. You hardly look at me anymore. Would it kill you to spend a little money on me sometime?

Pointy Shoes & Broken Thumbs: We’re sorry about that. We truly are. We’d like to but there’s just never enough.

Epilogue
We couldn’t fit all of our gripes neatly into our little dialogue so here’s the rest of the dirt.

The only thing Pointy Shoes would change in the kitchen is the sink. She would be happier with a deeper sink made of a thicker gauge metal.

We regret using paper tape to spackle seams in drywall for it has come undone.

All the heat in our house escapes through the thin floors, and the floor has no sound insulation so every squeak is audible.

Oh, and the roof still has a leak.

But despite these flaws, we are willing to put up with these things til death or rising home prices do us part.